What Are The Different Formats Of Cricket

What Are The Different Formats Of Cricket

Cricket, since its inception in 1597, has become a very popular sports game and is played on both national and international levels. A cricket game requires the use of a bat and a ball and consists of two teams that include 11 players each. The game is played on a pitch on a well-maintained field where the main objective of the game is to score the highest number of runs. Over the years, cricket has garnered an international fanbase and will continue to do so over the years.

Cricket is a multi-faced game where the length of the game varies in the duration of time and number of balls bowled. A typical cricket game starts with the umpire doing the toss to decide which team will bat first, and which team will bowl first. Every format of the game is played by the specific rules and regulations which are set by the International Cricket Council.

Major Cricket Format

Since cricket has been invented, it has evolved too in order to attract new audiences. Originally, the only format of the game was Test and First Class cricket, but recently, there are mainly three types of formats – Test Cricket, One Day Internationals, and T20 Internationals.

Test Cricket

Test Cricket is considered the pinnacle of the game by many. In this format, the two teams of 11 players wearing white tees and trousers play a four inning game, which can last up to 5 days. A red ball is used to play, with the aim of the game being to outscore the opponent’s focus, determination, ability, and endurance.

During this game, two innings are played by each Teams A and B. In this 5 day match, only 90 overs are to be bowled every day. The match begins with Team A batting first to score a target, then Team B gets to bat if Team A declares their innings or is all out. Then Team A gets to set a target for Team B again in the second inning. Now with the limited time and overs left in the 5-day match, Team B must achieve the target – if they get all out during the chase, Team A is declared winner, otherwise, the match is drawn between the teams. 

One Day International

In One Day International (ODI) format, each team has 50 overs to bat and the ultimate aim is to outscore the opposing team. This format of cricket is pacier than the Test format with the fundamentals of the format being the same, but the pace of the game is fast because the batsmen are trying to score more quickly within the limited overs available. Unlike the Test format, teams are more likely to wear different colors and a white ball is used.

While the Test format may be complex, One Day Internationals are fairly simple. Suppose Team A bats first to set a target for Team B in 50 overs. Then Team B has to chase down the target in the same number of overs. Team B’s failure to do either due to getting bowled or running short of overs will result in losing the game.

T20 International

T20 is the latest and the most successful format of cricket, which is an action and entertainment packed condensed form of the game. This format has a maximum of 20 overs to be played per innings by both teams. T20 matches are of lighthearted nature with music and cheerleaders entertaining the crowd in the overs, creating a cheerful mood.

T20 format rules are refined from the ODI format. In which a penalty for no-ball is a free hit on the next ball. At any time, for the first 6 overs, only 2 fielders are allowed outside the 30 yards circle. After that, no more than 5 fielders are allowed the 30 yards circle. These fielding rules allows batman to take more risk as compared to other formats, which makes the game fast-paced and increases the excitement for the crowd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s